London restaurants: A-Z

When I was little, I ate the following things:

-Grilled cheese sandwiches;
-Scrambled eggs;
-Cucumbers, dipped in french dressing;
-Cheerios;
-Chicken nuggets and burgers, which I refused to eat for about a year when our smoke alarm went off while I was eating one;
-Heinz Alphagetti.

That’s about it – Mom, you can let me know if I’m missing anything. I didn’t eat pizza until I was 14 – you can imagine how difficult that made birthday parties.

I can’t remember how this changed or when, but at 28, I live for food. Mexican Food. Vietnamese Food. Pakistani food. You put it in front of me and I will have it, with the following exceptions:

-Red meat;

-Fish (but I’m willing to compromise on this one sometimes);

-Mushrooms;

-And pomegranate but this is only because I am allergic.

No one in my immediate family would ever have predicted that I would go about the task of eating my way through London (or that I would live in London for that matter – but hey, that’s love for you) one letter at a time. So this is the project – Joanna discovers the world according to London’s restaurants, beginning with A and ending with Z, as long as that may or may not take me!

I can’t promise that I’ll go out for breakfast/lunch/brunch/lupper/tea (this means dinner in Scotland) every day, or even every week, or that I won’t post about other interesting food-related things or put up pictures of the cheese plate I ate today at La Fromagerie in Marylebone. What I CAN promise is that I will chow down as often as time and HSBC allows. I will keep this blog simple, clutter free and easy to read. And I will make you hungry.

I don’t claim to be the first person to have had this idea. Or that this was my idea at all – I give credit where credit’s due to my pal and former colleague Richard Bates for this one. I’ve enlisted the support of some good friends who have generously offered to eat many a meal with me and perhaps make an empanada or a profiterole or two.

This is likely not the only project of its kind – in my research I stumbled across at least one other person who’s already been down this tasty, tasty road and has written a much shinier blog. Nonetheless, I hope you will come along with me for the ride, because behind every door is a new meal waiting to be eaten – by me, and maybe one day by you too.

Have I sold this to you yet? I’m funny, I promise.

2 responses

  1. I’d love that! I’m going to set up a contacts page soon, and will definitely take your word for it when it comes to Nigerian food – I’m not sure I could even handle watching someone else eat chewy stomach lining.

    Thanks for reading!

    Jo

Leave a Reply

