E is for Easter egg

Friends! This recipe was simply TOO delicious and easy (ish) to not share, although some of you might be eager for me to stop being a cheapo and start going back to restaurants, the rest of you could probably care less. E is for Easter though, and not for Passover (I decided it wasn’t worth blogging my matzo ball soup earlier this week because it came out of a box – unlike my Auntee Renee, whose fluffy matzo balls were victorious in the inaugural ‘Battle of the Bubbies’ at Caplansky’s Deli last year.)

Every year I eagerly await the day where eating a Cadbury creme egg a day (keeps the doctor away?) is socially acceptable, and when corner stores stop selling last season’s stale stock. So this year, before moving on to the letter F (where if I am lucky I will become learned in the art of profiterole making) I decided I’d (attempt to) make my own as an Easter Monday treat.

Orange-infused homemade Cadbury creme eggs – inspired by Not Without Salt

Ingredients

1/2 cup golden syrup/corn syrup

3/4 stick or 6 tablespoons butter

3 cups icing sugar (powdered sugar in England)

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp orange blossom water  – I used Waitrose orange natural extract

IMG_2308

food colouring

Two 100g bars good quality chocolate – I used Green & Black‘s sea salt milk chocolate, because I thought the salt would nicely offset the almost sickly (in a good way) sugary filling of the egg. I was right.

Directions

1. Combine butter, golden syrup, vanilla, salt and orange blossom water, if using, in a small bowl and mix until smooth. If you have a stand mixer, more power to you. I did the majority of this by hand after my trusty Phillips hand mixer caught fire and I decided to stop using it.

2. Put approximately 1/3 of the mixture in a small bowl and add food colouring – if you want to make your life easy, use orange food colouring. Little do many people know, I was actually a very successful elementary school student, so I was able to combine red and yellow, because that’s what I had in the house, and achieve the same effect.

3. Put both bowls in the freezer, covered, for at least 20 minutes but not longer than about 45. I decided to take a time out and have a Skype date with a girlfriend, and my sugar mixture was difficult to work with. That said – it is important that it be very cold, or it will get melty and sticky and just make you want to tear your hair out.

4. When both mixtures are chilled, take your yolk out of the freezer and roll into small balls – you’ll need about a third of a teaspoon for each. As above – work quickly, or stickily. Return balls to freezer.

IMG_2312

5. Roll whites into balls – about a tablespoon of sugar mixture for each. Return to freezer if/when the mixture gets too sticky. As above they will need to be cold and hard – but not too hard – for them to be easy to work with. I did not get this part right.

6. Place a white in the palm of your hand, gently flatten and indent, making a nice little cozy nook for your yolk. Place a yolk in the center of the white, cover (this part is tricky) and roll into an egg-like shape. Or just a ball. Return everything to the freezer and allow to harden.

IMG_2313

7. Melt your chocolate – if you are ambitious and know how to temper chocolate properly, do this. Otherwise, the microwave will do – add one tablespoon of vegetable oil to the melted chocolate to give yourself some leg room.

8. One at a time, remove an egg from the freezer, stick a toothpick in and roll in the melted chocolate, allowing the excess chocolate to drip off. Place the toothpick into something solid (I chose potato) while the chocolate sets – do all of this (all of this being steps 1 through 7) carefully and with patience and love. Or just love – I haven’t got much patience, and my eggs tasted great all the same.

IMG_2317

Hoppy Easter! Until next time.

IMG_2320

Leave a Reply

